Connect with us

Florida State Seminoles

Record number of Gators named Champions for FSU blowout


A record number of Florida Gators under Dan Mullen versus an FBS opponent were awarded Champion status for their play in the 41-14 blowout of Florida State. The program released the names via Twitter late on Monday as Gator fans continue to celebrate the win over the rival.

Champion status is given to the players that grade 80% or higher for their play on offense, defense, or special teams. Here is the list of players that received the Champion label.


On Sunday, junior defensive end Jachai Polite was named the Walter Camp National Defensive Player of the Week. On Monday, the Florida staff named him the Defensive Player of the Week for the Florida State game. Polite finished with five tackles including 2.5 sacks, 3.5 tackles for loss, a forced fumble, and a quarterback hurry. He was a constant problem for quarterback Deondre Francois.

Other members of the defensive line that received the Champion label included sophomore defensive tackle Kyree Campbell (5 tackles), senior defensive end CeCe Jefferson (1 fumble recovery, 1 quarterback hurry), Adam Shuler (4 tackles, .5 sack), Tedarrell Slaton (1 tackle), Jabari Zuniga (4 tackles, 1 sack)

Two linebackers achieved Champion status after the FSU game in junior David Reese (6 tackles) and redshirt junior Jeremiah Moon (1 tackle)

Three members of Florida’s secondary attained Champion status. Freshman Trey Dean (1 tackle, 1 interception), sophomore C.J. Henderson (2 tackles), and junior Jeawon Taylor (5 tackles) all were tagged with the label.



The Florida offense rolled up 536 yards on the Seminoles Saturday. The two Players of the Week for Florida included redshirt sophomore Feleipe Franks who threw for 254 yards and three touchdowns and sophomore receiver Trevon Grimes who had a career high 118 receiving yards and a touchdown on five catches.

The staff also awarded junior running back Lamical Perine (131 yards, 1 touchdown) and redshirt junior running back Jordan Scarlett (88 yards, 1 touchdown).

Four other receivers joined Grimes as Champions. Junior Josh Hammond 2 receptions for 12 yards and a touchdown), redshirt junior receiver Van Jefferson (4 catches for 92 yards and a touchdown), junior Freddie Swain (1 catch for 2 yards), and Kadarius Toney (2 catches for 21 yards and 1 rush for 5 yards) were all named Champion.

Two Florida tight ends were graded as Champions in seniors C’yontai Lewis (1 catch for 2 yards) and Moral Stephens.

All five starting offensive linemen graded Champions. Redshirt junior Nick Buchanan, senior Martez Ivey, senior Fred Johnson, senior Tyler Jordan, and junior Jawaan Taylor were all part of the first time the whole group made the list during the season


The Player of the Week on special teams was redshirt junior punter Tommy Townsend. Townsend averaged 51.5 yards on four punts including a long of 65 yards in the game.

Other special teams members earning Champion included true freshman Amari Burney, sophomore Shawn Davis, junior Chauncey Gardner-Johnson, redshirt freshman James Houston, junior Vosean Joseph, redshirt sophomore Lucas Krull, freshman kicker Evan McPherson, redshirt sophomore C.J. McWilliams, redshirt freshman Ventrell Miller, redshirt junior Jeremiah Moon, freshman Dameon Pierce, and redshirt senior R.J. Raymond.

Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More in Florida State Seminoles